Thread: Can someone toss me a bone?

Default Can someone toss me a bone?

Hello All, new guy here and here's my story. I only get to live in Alaska one week a year, at least for the last ten. That week is spent each fall, late September, chasing Silvers on Prince of Wales Island. The rest of the time I chase Carp in Utah just to keep the rods bent.

So in the last 10 years me and my fishing partners have only been out for halibut twice. Once in 2000 and just last fall. We took a local guide the first trip and fished on the outside around Shaft rock and Cape Addington. I hauled up two big ones - BOTH of which came off the hook ( our guide used J hooks and I was a rookie). One was 48 inches plus and sat right next to the boat for several minutes. I asked the guide what we could do and his reply was 'I can't get that fish'. oh well... and then we ended up with ping pong paddles and a chicken that didn't break 10 pounds.

Last fall our host, Chuck Haydu, took us out for a short trip and we fished on the inside due to low fuel and the petrol dock power being out. We fished only 2 miles from the dock. What surprised him was we hauled up a 53, a 40, couple of 20's and some teens from two spots in short order and we were done. Went back to the petrol dock when power was restored and when he began pumping the fuel guage got 'unstuck', shot to full and gushed gas everywhere. But we were totally satisfied with our catch and called it good. Didn't even try for rockfish or lings.

Next month we'll be there again- trip #11 for me - and we're renting our own boat to try our luck.