Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My rant about newbie hunters to Alaska

Default My rant about newbie hunters to Alaska

I know I was new to hunting Alaska two years ago yes grew up hunting in Oregon, anyhow I went with a friend who was just as new but we learned with some help, I'm by no means a expert but I know what I need to bring to be somewhat successful or at least have fun and not try to hurt/kill myslef in the process. I'm all about helping other folks out and taking them hunting but man this past 2-3 weeks has been something else. Apparaneltey I have a banner on my vehicle thats says this
    " If you like to flip your 4 wheeler end over end, because you got impatient going up the trail and wanted to take another route, and you come armed with the wrong ammo for Bear and Moose, you like to shift gears on your wheeler in the mud and try to wheel threw the mud in 3rd gear in 2 wheel drive and you cant figure out why you got stuck in the first place and your constant excuse is well it "has been awhile, your wife turns to me and start telling me you spend to much time and money going hunting and you need to stay home and not go hunting, and you shot plenty of whitetail deer and you know what to do with a moose, and you see a moose 4 miles away in the open tundra and want to take off after one on foot cause it don't look that bad down thier." If you fit into this criteria then apparantely I'm your guy to take you hunting. The fella riding around shifting and cruising in two wheel drive was someone else newbie hunter by the way...

Wait...what? Problem #1: 4-wheeler.

323, What was your first trip out into the GREAT OUTDOORS like, lol. ( I would venture to say it was differant than deer hunting.)

They all learn, some sooner than others. Some it will cost them to repair thier equipment, others with hospital bills, and others who just don't learn and it will cost them with there lives.