Thread: Grizzly hunting

Default Grizzly hunting

Greetings, I'm new to this web site. From Florida and am planning a grizzly hunt some time next spring. Was wondering what would be better. Prince William Sound or the Haines area. I've been told both have great potential but believe one is going to cost way more than the other. Any idea's or recommendations on transporters or guides? What caliber would be best for shooting a big bear. This is going to be a once in a life time trip and want to do it right.

The caliber is secondary to your ability to shoot it accurately. The biggest gun that you can shoot accurately would be a good start.

I've shot a couple of Brownbears with my .30-06 and it was no problem at all. I shoot a .375 Ruger now but I wouldn't hesitate to do it again with the '06.

150 grain Barnes X bullet in .30-06 did fine. I'd recommend at least 180 grains though.
    Like Lujon said, being able to shoot proficently is the biggest key.
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

big bears, haines isn't where i'd start looking for big bears, PWS has some, but kodiak and the ak pen seems to have a pile more.
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212

Trust that guy. And if it were me I would hire him as your guide! Do a search on here for some of his clients bears!
    US Air Force - retired and Wildlife photographer

To follow my photography adventures check out my facebook page

Quote Originally Posted by I8agator View Post
    Greetings, I'm new to this web site. From Florida and am planning a grizzly hunt some time next spring. Was wondering what would be better. Prince William Sound or the Haines area. I've been told both have great potential but believe one is going to cost way more than the other. Any idea's or recommendations on transporters or guides? What caliber would be best for shooting a big bear. This is going to be a once in a life time trip and want to do it right.