Thread: repairing water damaged camper

Default repairing water damaged camper

I am repairing an 89 jayco slide in camper that has some water damage to it. The back has water damage from the floor halfway up the walls so im replacing the water damaged parts. my question is what is the lightest material I can use to repair it. Its 2 inches thick. I've never done this before so its a big deal to me. Trying to get it done before hunting season starts. so I have sometime but if I can i'm gonna try to get it done ASAP. Any help would be greatly appreciated. THX Chris

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

Hey Chris, been there, done that! I used 1/8 inch birch plywood, stained to match the interior of the camper, and coated the back side with roofing asphalt to water proof it. Check the condition of the existing studs, replace with 2X2 if needed. As with any water damage project, mine got much bigger once I tore into it and determined the real extent of the damage. I would recommend peeling back the flooring a bit to see if there was any damage there. What started as a project to replace a small section of a wall ended up replacing the entire front wall and 3 1/2 feet of the floor. The good thing is, all you need are basic carpentry skills and a little time. Oh, and a way to keep it dry while it's tore apart.

I'm in that process now. When taking the paneling off the sides to see in there I found more damage on the walls. Which only goes back about a foot. Should be easy to replace. The flooring is damaged about 3 feet. The back wall is damaged about half way up. Since in into it this far I might as well replace the studs with new 2x2's and on the corners where the jacks are Im thinking of using 2x4's and a one foot 4x4 to bolt the jacks on. we'll see when that time comes. What material did you use to replace the wall with??