Thread: Upgrade from 19' Hewes to 2560 Trophy? What am I in for?

Default Upgrade from 19' Hewes to 2560 Trophy? What am I in for?

http://anchorage.craigslist.org/boa/1860744968.html

Price has dropped significently...

I have been running a 19' hewes out of Homer, Seward and the Mighty Kenai for about 15 years now, and I have zero experience concerning plastic boats. Main goal is to upgrade the on the water experience to include dryer and warmer. Wanna' cruise PWS.

How much difference between operating and maintaining a 25'/9'6" plastic boat vs a 19' aluminum?

Do you own one like this? What do you love/hate about it?

Thanks,

DC

I bought an Osprey from a fella on this board. Never had a boat previously. I waxed it this spring and will wax it again this fall. Not done anything extra past that cept for some engine maintenance. Seems pretty easy to me thus far.

Dan

P.S. Sorry, forgot to note while on phone, but I really like how it rides compared to the few metal charter boats I've been out on. Much quieter and doesn't seem to pound as much either. I'm sure tho, those really nice spendy Alu boats are quite comparible, but geez, I can't afford that at all...

I had a 22 Seraider "spam can" from 2000 to 2003, at that time I went "PLASTIC" ...