Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fish creek easychair biology 101

Default Fish creek easychair biology 101

OK, I am not a scientist or a biologist. What I do know is for over 15 years fish creek has not met it's escapement goal but for the last two. We have been able to dipnet the creek for the last two years cause the upper limit set, 70,000 fish would be met.
    I have been told for years that beaver dams, habitat degradation from no zoning and other habitat issues and a myriad of other problems were to blame.
    So what changed? Did somebody start blowing up beaver dams and enforcing non -existing laws on creek pollution? I'm confused?
    Recently a retired fish biologist and past board member of the BOF said that emergency openers for the comfishers were curtailed early on due to the projected run strength of the sockeye, which proved to be wrong later in the season.
    So... does this tell us interception was or is the main cause of the fish creek boom or bust fishery? Is the drift fleet the cause of the fish creek boom or bust?
    What steps are being taken to address the stock of concern status for the northern fishery? I have not seen any dramatic change to address that issue.
    One of you easy chair managers or wanna-bees care to chime in? I'm not setting up a premise to come back with something I'm holding up my sleeve, I really want to know.
    Please chime in with your thoughts but this is exactly the same question I am going to ask comfish/sports bio's when they show up at the valley this coming Wednesday evening. Just thought I would give you all a chance to chime in.
    If a dipnetter dips a fish and there is no one around to see/hear it, Did he really dip?

Don't believe e.o.s for the drift fleet have anything to do with it. These take place in the Kenai and Kasilof corridors and the harvest of Fisf Creek sockeye would be minimal