Thread: Twins 50's on a 19'?

Default Twins 50's on a 19'?

Can someone help me out with this? If I were to buy another Yamaha 50 to bolt beside the one I have on my 19' Searunner, would it need to be counter-rotating? Thanks for help.

Default yes, I hear

From what I read, counter-rotating is "the way" to go. Will your boat take all that weight on the transom? Will be interesting to hear what others say. Good question.

First question is do they make a counter-rotating 50? I'm not an expert in this but I would think that a 50hp motor doesn't put out enough torque to warrant this on a twin settup.

It would probably be easier and cheaper to sell your 50 and replace it with a bigger motor. Adding dual controls and moving your original motor over seems like more work than switching out to a bigger motor.
    Tennessee

Default not possible

i bought two for my 22' boat. don't make a counter rotator till you get to 115 i think. does not affect stearing much. when running full speed in my boat and trimmed up nice it drives it self as striaght as an arrow. i bought my steering from dewies also. they have a very nice system they sell. stears like a dream. no need for hydrolic stearing like i was told. Wasn't to badly priced either. i run 15 pitch by 13 5/8 inch prop. i have the T-50's though. runs very good and pretty fast, can hit 35mph on a good day, but usually run at 30mph which is @5100rpm and get 4 miles to a gallon like that. cheap to run. about 5-7 gallons an hour. each motor is supposed use 3.5 gallons wide open. i just keep track of miles per gallon.
    Last edited by akrstabout; 02-03-2007 at 20:11. Reason: changed some info

Thumbs up laker

throw a 150 hp on they and that will get you across skilak(sp) lake-specially if you got a load on