Thread: Russian River Campground

Default Russian River Campground

Heading to the Russian next week for the first time. The regs say fly fishing only to the ADFG markers. Is it fly fishing at the campground too? If we don't want to fly fish is far to walk further up stream and would it be worth the walk?

Thanks for any advice or input.

All of the russian is "fly fishing only". Sorry.

Was thinking about taking a flyrod anyway although I am a NOVICE at fly fishing. Would it be worth it during this time or should I fish elsewhere? Thanks

You don't necessarily have to use a fly rod, simply a fly as your terminal gear. Most anglers at the Russian use stout spinning rods with a coho (Russian River) fly on the end. It's the most effective way of targeting reds, so regardless of where you fish down there, that's the way to go.

I wouldn't worry too much about being a novice fly fisher. "Fly fishing" on the Russian simply means that you have to use a fly. The typical way to fish it is to stack a bunch of split shot on the leader (must be at least 18" from fly per the regs), and flip the fly into the water, let it drift down, strip it out, repeat. There wouldn't be room to actually fly cast, so no need to worry about that, and nothing in the regs says you have to actually use a fly rod, so many, if not most folks use a spinning rod anyway. So as long as you're using a fly - and make sure the hook isn't too big - size restrictions are in the regs - you're fine.

-Gr
    My signature is awesome.

Great. Got plenty of spinning rods. Does the same technique work for rainbows and silvers as well?

For rainbows take your fly rod, get some "flesh flies" you can get them right down there near the Russian at Trout Fitters. Orange color was working for us today.