Thread: avoiding pinks when trolling

Default avoiding pinks when trolling

I'm new to the trolling game. Looking for some advice on avoiding catching pinks while targeting kings and silvers. Not that they arn't fun to catch, but after awhile it starts getting a little frustrating trying to target other fish. I've tried going deep, shallow and all depths in between. Faster, slower, bigger.....Nothing seemed to change. I didn't use any "real" Herring. Maybe thats the ticket.

Any suggestions?
    Experience is a hard teacher because you get the test first and the lesson afterwards.

Quote Originally Posted by kodiakbound View Post
    I'm new to the trolling game. Looking for some advice on avoiding catching pinks while targeting kings and silvers. Not that they arn't fun to catch, but after awhile it starts getting a little frustrating trying to target other fish. I've tried going deep, shallow and all depths in between. Faster, slower, bigger.....Nothing seemed to change. I didn't use any "real" Herring. Maybe thats the ticket.

Any suggestions?
    When they are in there's not much that can be done other than pick up and move. Fishing deeper can work, that's if you can get your bait down there. Dime bright pinks are a tasty meal.
    In 1492 Native Americans discovered Columbus lost at sea

If I come across as an arrogant, know-it-all jerk, it's because I am

I hate humpies with a passion.

As the previous poster said, the best way to avoid humpies is to not fish around humpies..