Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1st Moose hunt... I need help.

Default 1st Moose hunt... I need help.

I am new to Fairbanks and want to go moose hunting for the first time. Thing is i have no idea what I am doing with moose hunting. Where is a goode place to go? What am i to be looking for as far as terrian? Where is a good butcher shop? Where is a good taxidermist?
    thanks for any help.

KJ, do a search on here for moose/fairbanks, or any of a number of combinations.. read the F&G manual for the unit for which you want to hunt and then look at maps for access issues..... then get a good gun and go...

If you cant stand behind the troops in Iraq.. Feel free to stand in front of them.

Moose are heavy.... get a good 4 wheeler. If you can drive your truck to it all of the locals already know about your spot. You have to get away from the crowds. Thats why I suggest the 4 wheeler. Also leave the beer at home. It is way easier to spot moose through binos instead of bottles. The area I hunt is getting more and more crowded. The funny thing is we come out every year with a moose or two and people look at us as we pass them on the trails that havent even seen a moose. Invest in binos and a good gun and 4 wheeler. Ive got a 4 wheeler for sale if youre looking. As far as a butcher shop I do my own, taxidermy I do my own basic taxidermy too. My favorite spot is... top secret . Terrain is personal preference. I know lots of people who hunt the rivers... I like the hills.

DONT leave your beer at home, cause when you get skunked (like most people do) at least you had a good time get s**t faced!!! and dont listen to the sales pitch above, get a freaking boat!!!

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Quote Originally Posted by sambuck12 View Post