Thread: What is the difference in a polaris carbureted 500ho and a 500?

Default What is the difference in a polaris carbureted 500ho and a 500?

I'm just getting into the ATV world. I just picked up a 2004 Sportsman 500 and I'm looking for some info. This one is actually the 2004.5, which as I understand they made a few changes too. What changes exactly I don't know yet. If it helps, my model is A04CH50AS. On most online parts lists they only show models ending in AA or AQ.
    Questions I have:
    1- What is the difference in a 500 motor and a 500HO? Assume both are the carb models.
    2- What aftermarket fluids and lubes can I use for this model and year? (yes, I know the OEM lubes are made to match the ATV, but somebody somewhere is making them for Polaris.)
    3- I won't discount Polaris dealers, but to date the prices I get for parts are incredibly high. I'd like to do business locally, or in state, but I can't afford $500 for an OEM starter and bendix. It hurt bad enough to pay $65 for a recoil rope reel. OUCH! Where do you consistently find a good supply of Polaris parts, aftermarket or OEM, at good prices and quick shipping? I'd like to find a one source outlet if possible rather than jump around.
    4- Does anybody have a service/repair manual for the 2004.5 Polaris Sportsman 500HO that they are willing to sell, share, trade or.....?
    5- Do you have any experience changing out the cams? Or, experience with a machine that had to have the cam changed?

I am hoping, maybe naively, that I won't have to pay aircraft prices for ATV parts. I'm willing to bet you guys have been through most of this before. Thanks guys for any answers.
    ARR

I think I'm right about this, someone correct if wrong.
    The Sportsman 500 was made in the year 2000 and OLDER. The Sportsman 500 HO started in 2001.
    I think all the 500's after 2001 are the HO's.
    The cam problem I think you are talking about was the year 2000 and older 500's.