Thread: Reasonable Plane Insurance Costs

Default Reasonable Plane Insurance Costs

Hi All,

I need a few opinions from some more experienced plane owners...is a little over $4k a year a reasonable plane insurance premium for a C172 if it is being financed through a local bank? This just seems high, but I am new to plane ownership and so I thought I would ask. If you have any references to who is a good aircraft insurance outfit for Alaska, I am all ears. Thanks!

Sounds high to me as well. But maybe it is bacuse of your hours or some sort of high dollar equipment. Or it is just BS.

Call Dean Eichholtz at Falcon Insurance in Soldotna 1-888-543-5548 or 1-907-262-5548
    Tell him Alex said to call.
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

No way would I finace a Plane through a bank. High to me too. Unless your rich!
    Tim

Call, Avemco, they were allot cheaper than Falcon for me. What is the Value for your 172, $4K sounds right for about a $70K airplane with very few hours.

Terry

There are likely a few exceptions but in general avemco is going to be cheaper for a low time pilot. Later after a few hundred hours in type Dean at Falcon will find someone to beat them.

And until you tell us hull value it's hard to judge. For a tricycle gear cessna four seater that seems stratospheric unless it is worth much more than typical.

2 years ago when i was looking at a cub dean quoted me something like 6500 for ins for it. couple days later avemco came back at 4k. last year when i bought my c-170 i didnt even call falcon. i pay 3771 from avemco. this is on 70k plane with 100hr pp and about 10hr tail wheel. dean was very good to talk to though. just couldnt bring down the price.

I have a C172, hull value $24K, ~250 hrs, instrument rated..my partners also have between ~250-300 hours and are not instrument rated. We pay ~$2,300/yr for full coverage.

Default Thank You