Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking to get a moose this season

Default Looking to get a moose this season

I have been in Fairbanks for a few years now and have finally decided I'm just going to go for it and try and get a moose. I have some experience hunting sitka blacktails in kodiak but I have been hesitant to go for a moose because the hunt seems like a whole new challenge and I felt I would have little confidence in what I was doing. I am tired of waiting for some nonexistent opportunity and am going to go for it.

I am hoping to get some info on spots to check out and scout on the 4-wheeler. I am also planning on talking with fish and game to get any info I can. Does anyone else have any good resources for information? or spots that might be worth investigating? (I understand if you'd rather not divulge that info) I originally was hoping to tag along on a hunt or two first but I think I am going to go for it. Any tips for someone who's never tackled such a huge animal before?

Thanks for any advice. If nothing else I am just going to take a few trails and see what happens.

Quote Originally Posted by alexofalaska View Post
    ...I originally was hoping to tag along on a hunt or two first but I think I am going to go for it. Any tips for someone who's never tackled such a huge animal before?
    I wish you every success, but you'd better have a pretty good plan for taking care of your moose once he's down. The actual work is not unlike processing a deer, but its just 10 times as big. I've known a couple first time moose hunters to end up with a hefty fine because they were able to locate and harvest their moose, but were unable to get the meat out of the field without significant waste. IMO you cannot over plan that aspect of your hunt. One person can get a moose out of the field with some work and planning, but I recommend you have a strategy before you get him down.
    Foolishness is a moral category, not an intellectual one.