Thread: .358 Norma Mag loading ? for the experts

Default .358 Norma Mag loading ? for the experts

It looks like I will be inheriting a .358 NM shortly & I've got a couple of questions.
    First, I understand that the 358 NM brass can be made from .338 WM brass. Is this correct?
    If that's the case, can I open the necks with a .358 Win die initially, & then reload using a .338 sizing die & then sizing he neck with my .358 Win die?
    I have a set of 358 Win. dies already that I use for my .358 x .444, & see .338 dies used occassionaly.
    Don't find many sets of .358 NM dies used.
    Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33
    "But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."

Default "For the Experts"...?

Vance,

Not gonna work! I've been reloading for the 358 Norma since about 1972.

1. The 358 win dies are too small in the body to allow the 358 Norma to enter.

2. The 338 WM brass is too short in the head to shoulder dimension and will have excessive case stretching just forward of the belt. Technically the 358 headspaces on the belt but with that much gap in shoulder it will cause early failure of case separation.

3. 358 Norma brass is available and is about $85/100. Graf & Son has Norma available now. Why mess with the 338, which will fail on the first firing. I know this has been done and with some success, I have done it that's why I don't recommend it.

4. 358 Norma dies are available, Redding or RCBS for about $45.

What is your rifle? Not many commercial makers of that caliber. Husky and Schultz & Larsen and Sako are the only ones I have seen. Several custom rifles are around though.
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

Thanks Murphy.
    Guys like you ae the reason I ask the questions here.
    I'll check with Graf on the brass. I hadn't found prices like that anywhere.