Thread: new to fly fishing

Default new to fly fishing

I'm fairly new to fishing with a fly rod. My wife bought me a Scientific Angler model 2LA-890 reel and a Temple Fork Lefty Kreh 10wt 9 ft rod. I wanted something to catch reds and possibly land a king if I happened to hook into one. I have caught 2 fish on this rod, both reds. When I hooked into the second red the arbor fell off the reel so I started pulling the line in by hand to try and land the fish. The button that locks the arbor on fell off. While I was doing this the rod snapped at the joint of the 3rd and 4th section. Is this stuff junk or did I just have a stroke of bad luck? I would think that a 10wt rod and that reel would be more than enough to land a couple 4-6 lb reds. For as much money as my wife spent on this rig I figured it would hold up better than that.
    "...arms like laws discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe...Horrid mischief would ensue were the good deprived of the use of them." -Thomas Paine

can we say..... manufacturers warranty

TFO -
    Our No-Fault Warranty is for the life of the original registered owner. Fill out the form below or return the registration card you received with your purchase to activate your warranty.
    To use your No-fault Warranty, simply send the entire rod to our address in Dallas listed below. We recommend using a carrier that provides tracking information in case of a problem. Include your return shipping / contact information and a check for $25 per broken rod. Your repaired rod will be shipped back to you within a few days of receipt.

im not finding anything as far as scientific angler... so hopefully the store you bought it from can help you

If you cant stand behind the troops in Iraq.. Feel free to stand in front of them.