Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Curing roe for bait, sockeye for kings?

Default Curing roe for bait, sockeye for kings?

A few friends stated that sockeye eggs do not work as king bait. Does anyone have an opinion one way or the other?

I'll be pretty new to king fishing next year but have about 80 skeins of sockeye eggs saved. I'll be putting procure on them until it runs out. After that I'll be looking for ideas.

Any suggestions?

I'm new to egg fishing.
    ><((((>.`..`.. ><((((>`..`.><((((>

"People who drink light 'beer' don't like the taste of beer; they
    just like to pee a lot." --Capitol Brewery

I have always used sockeye eggs. I started curing them when I was 15 phish. The old school way. No pro cure. Borax, and strawberry jello. Roll them around and cover the piss out of them. Let them cure in the sun for a few hours and bag them up. It worked all through the 80's. Plus they would milk like mad and your hands were not stained for 3 weeks. I used to fish for kings like I do for trout back then and never had a problem. Then again this is 2010 and what the hell do I know
    Grandkids, Making big tough guys hearts melt at first sight

borax and strawberry jello, sounds like a winner. Wanna PM a rough idea of ratio? Thanks bud

I have had great results fishing for kings using sockeye eggs. The quality of the eggs and method of cure is the biggest factor in determining your success.

Phish give me a call it will be easier.

I'm snuggling the babies down for a nap now. I'll call this PM.

PM sent check it out and give me a shout when you can buddy

Sockey eggs will work fine. I ususlly use King roe because I tend to have plenty of it, but cured up some Sockeye roe this season to try out. I saw a couple groups hammering the Kings on Sockeye roe earlier this season, so I know it'll work. Borax and Strawberry Jello...haven't tried that one..Can you PM me your mix ratio, I'll give it a try as well. Thanks.