Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: willow for trout ( water level? )

Default willow for trout ( water level? )

how is the trout fishing and water level on the willow above the highway... thinking of floating it with the inflatable kayaks tomorrow.....

Check your other thread. The water level is fine for IKs. Muzzy and I did it in packrafts last week. Plenty of trout.

went there last night and the water is up super high...probably not much for fishing.

What did you use for catching trout? I am new to this. I had some bites on a glow bug patter but got nothing... maybe the hook was a bit too big... looking to go again soon and any advice would be nice...

Oh and the water was high and fast... awesome om the IKs...

Quote Originally Posted by theronn View Post
    I had some bites on a glow bug patter but got nothing....
    Glow bugs are a waste of time for the most part. Sure they have a place and time to be used, but I dont mess with them much on the Parks.

The fly that will do it all is obviosly the Montana Llama.

I am not against the flippin kenai, since I cannot but suspect it keeps armies of the unworthy from discovering every other stream... ~Paul O'Neil~/~Wyo2AK~

Quote Originally Posted by muzzyman87 View Post

He's absolutely right. I'm exclusively using a montana llama for any body of moving water at this point. I suggest them in all the usual suspect colors.

You could also try ESL, moal leaches, buggers, bunny leaches, The classic dolly llama, beads now, nymphs, mice, smolt patterns, sculpin patterns, adams, ehc., flesh, .... etc

You ever been single? Because a fly box should be like the bar you keep at your crash pad. You never know what that lady you bring home is going to like to drink. You can't just throw every hussy that comes through the door a bud light and expect to score.

Assorted drinks to score with hussies.... check.

Montana llama................ ( not checked )