Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: some common areas on the peninsula

Default some common areas on the peninsula

what are some areas for duck hunting on the kenai peninsula?what does a guy need to try out duck hunting a couple times this fall

Otterpants,
    This is a pretty broad question, but I'll try and help you out a bit as I was a beginner once too!
    First off, you will need a hunting license and state and federal duck stamps. Easy enough...
    Let's move on to equipment, you will need a shotgun preferably with interchangable chokes that will allow you to shoot steel shot. Some steel shot shells, I use Winchester X-pert 3" BB for most everything and I've done quite well with a Mod choke in my 870 and they are around $12.00 to $13.00 a box down here on the Peninsula. You will need some camo clothes and or a camo rain jacket or poncho. I got all my stuff out of the dumpster or Salvation Army. Not glamorous, but I get plenty of birds and when I get dirty and trash my gear (which always happens) I'm not out a bunch of cash and bummed out.
    I don't really use a permanent or a semi-permanent blind, I just use what is naturally around or hunker down with my poncho over me and use some ragged burlap over my head. You will need to have a way to retrieve birds in the water if you are hunting near it. A boat, canoe, raft, dog or waders and a long stick are all options and I sometimes employ several on the same trip. If going on the cheap, go for some decent waders and a small little raft or canoe.
    As far as places to go, I go to some of the more extreem ones like Chickaloon Flats and the head of Katchemak Bay with my 4 wheeler and my dog and we camp out for a couple of days and get a good chunk of meat out of it. There maybe some other more accessable places to hunt and I'd like to hear them if anyone else wants to share!
    That's about all I've got, please feel free to ask any other questions and I'll do my best to answer them.

Mountaintrekker