Thread: Need help with a goat hunt??

Default Need help with a goat hunt??

I need a list of guides that do the coastal goat hunts. Does anyone have a clue how many there are? I have been dreaming of a hunt of this kind for many many years. If you can give a name or any info ,please throw me a bone. Thanks from SW Pa.

Do you have an idea where you would like to hunt goats in AK; SEAK, South-central, Kodiak?

You're talking about a large area and for someone to build that list for you would chew up full day no doubt. Give us an idea what part of Alaska and cost you're willing to spend and perhaps we can get you started in the right direction.
    Alaska Outdoors Television ~ Outdoor Channel

I didn't know there were so many options . I would like the boat to be the base camp ,will spike if need be. The hunt will be for 2 and the long hair is what I would like . We have been saving for this hunt since the last hunt for moose ,a diy in 2005.For a good hunt we'll spend what ever it takes and stay as long as we have to.This might be my last hunt in Alaska. If it was your dream hunt were would you start looking, areas, guides what ever .And thank you for your time and nohow.

Goats are found along the coast from Southeast Alaska below Juneau and up the coast all the way to Kodiak. In-land, you can find goats in the Chagach range in places, but many folks consider them a coastal animal. The later in the year, the longer the hair, so October tends to be a popular time to hunt. Kodiak Island has a healthy goat population. Many of the goat hunts are "drawing" hunts, and you have to apply in the winter. With the minimal information you have given, it appears you are looking for "registration" hunts only. Fish and Game has some pretty good information for you to review to narrow down where you want to hunt. Once you have a Game management area pegged down the folks here may be able to better help answer your questions.