Thread: Sandhill cranes Matsu

Default Sandhill cranes Matsu

Where is a good place in the Mat-su area for a total newbie to go for Sandhill cranes? Also, when in the year do you go? I havent bird hunted except for grouse.

I have no idea, but you certainly have opened up an idea for me. No restrictions on archery equipment for sandhills and they are delicious eating. I've eaten a couple out in western Alaska and they are excellent.
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem

I just did a little research. It looks like their major migration takes place up north through Delta and the Tanana Valley. There are local breeding pairs of cranes in the Mat-Su Valley, but it looks like the chances are slim to see any major groupings of cranes in the fall in the Mat-Su.

I personally see large groups of cranes in my area in the spring, but I can't remember seeing groups in the fall in our area.
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem

You can find them near the new hospital, on the experimental tree farm, owned by the state. Don't know about if it is legal to hunt there but w/a shotgun, you are within the law on the firearm special use area, IF-- you have a hunter safety card.
    Last edited by thewhop2000; 07-19-2010 at 11:33. Reason: cause I can
    If a dipnetter dips a fish and there is no one around to see/hear it, Did he really dip?

Quote Originally Posted by thewhop2000 View Post
    You can find them near the new hospital, on the experimental tree farm, owned by the state.
    Haven't seen those guys in at least the last three weeks or so...I think they've moved on.

No. They're still around. They won't leave till early September.
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

Quote Originally Posted by pike_palace View Post
    No. They're still around. They won't leave till early September.