Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Garmin-Yahama interface

  1. #1
    Member SkinnyRaven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    320

    Default Garmin-Yahama interface

    Just installed the Garmin 740S and see from the literature that it can be interfaced with the Yamaha "Command Link" and transfer engine data to the display. Has anyone done this? What all was involved, what cables are needed, and where did you locate them?

    07 Ocean Pro 220 ET HT
    115 Yamaha
    Garmin 740S, GMR 18 HD
    Airmar TM 260-MM

  2. #2
    Member SkinnyRaven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Ok for those interested heres how it works. Picked up the engine interface cable from Cabelas, installed a NMEA 2000 network and a Garmin GFS 10. All engine date is displayed on the Garmin 740S.



    Fuel level, RPM, Trim and Gallons Per Hour



    Volts, Temperature and PSI

    07 Ocean Pro 220 ET HT
    115 Yamaha
    Garmin 740S, GMR 18 HD
    Airmar TM 260-MM

  3. #3
    Member patrickL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,131

    Default

    Very cool. Looks like the hookup was fairly cheap. Did you have to the run the wire all the way back to the engine or does it hook into the gauges. Also, do you know how the hook up would go if you had twins?

  4. #4
    Member SkinnyRaven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by patrickL View Post
    Very cool. Looks like the hookup was fairly cheap. Did you have to the run the wire all the way back to the engine or does it hook into the gauges. Also, do you know how the hook up would go if you had twins?
    The way I understand it if you have "Command Link" gauges you attach the the interface cable to a spare plug, if not the interface cable connects to the engine. Twins would require two interface cables.

    07 Ocean Pro 220 ET HT
    115 Yamaha
    Garmin 740S, GMR 18 HD
    Airmar TM 260-MM

  5. #5

    Default

    Very neat, are you using the same display for engine - sonar - and GPS?

  6. #6
    Member SkinnyRaven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonsboat View Post
    Very neat, are you using the same display for engine - sonar - and GPS?
    Yes you can configure any screen to show the data you like.

    07 Ocean Pro 220 ET HT
    115 Yamaha
    Garmin 740S, GMR 18 HD
    Airmar TM 260-MM

  7. #7
    Member halibutcollier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, United States
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Looks sweet, are you heading out this weekend to try it out?

  8. #8
    Member SkinnyRaven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    320

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halibutcollier View Post
    Looks sweet, are you heading out this weekend to try it out?
    Looks like rain this weekend, working on the radar install, if I can get finished in time maybe a shake down cruise this weekend.

    07 Ocean Pro 220 ET HT
    115 Yamaha
    Garmin 740S, GMR 18 HD
    Airmar TM 260-MM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •