Thread: 5 wt 6pc for <$150

Default 5 wt 6pc for <$150

Hey guys
    Ill make it short and sweet.
    Im a novice fly fisherman looking to invest in a 5 wt fly rod. I will mostly be fishing lakes and a few streams for trout. I am most interested in a 4 or 6 pc.

What is your fav rod for around $150? I have heard great things about the Temple Forks rod.

thanks for any and all imput or advice!

Echo Carbon. Really fun rod with a good warranty for about $169.00. I bought one and have had a ball with it. I'm really impressed with the value of Echo rods. I haven't tried an Echo Solo, but those are priced under $100.00.

I checked a few sources and couldn't find a decent 6-piece rod I'd recommend in your price range, but there are several 4-piece.

I don't have any experience with Echo, but they have a solid rep.

I do have experience with several Temple Fork models, and even with a houseful of Sage, Loomis, Winston and other high-end rods, I'm impressed with Temple Fork products.

So are the guys I fish with around the West- We're all serious about fly fishing, and I think the "newbie" in our loose group has over 30 years experience. We all use them for travel rods now since you can buy 3 or more for the cost of one high-end rod, yet they cast really well. Can't beat the warranty either. As we retire the high-end rods for one reason or another, many are being replaced with Temple Fork for use on home waters, too.

I'm sure you're going to get a lot of it, but another vote for temple fork in that price range. I have 2, 4pc 4weights and love both of them...they cast every bit as good as my 3wt sage!

Quote Originally Posted by TradBow View Post
    I'm sure you're going to get a lot of it, but another vote for temple fork in that price range. I have 2, 4pc 4weights and love both of them...they cast every bit as good as my 3wt sage!