Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Best Bait for Halibut

Default Best Bait for Halibut

Whats everyones favorite bait for Halibut?

I'm new to hailbut fishing and i have always used herring. I was wondering if there was better bait out there? I hear salmon head, bellies, octupus, cod, and squid... Any suggestions? Thanks for the help!
    I Wish i could change my name to Shimano, because i recently started hating Ambassdor Abu_Garcia.

Not to sound sarcastic, but whatever they are biting on is the best bait to use. I have found being out there 4 to 7 days a week every week that there is no "favorite" bait when it comes to what they will bite on. People might have favorite things to use, but halibut don't care what a person's favorite thing to use is.

That's why I use herring, squid, octopus, halibut carcass parts, salmon carcass parts, cod strips and pollock. I have had days when one seems to work better than others, and days when you could put anything on your hook and they'd bite. Today it didn't seem to matter much as we caught and released over 20 and then settled on 8 that ranged in size from 12 lbs. up to 39 lbs. with a whole smorgasbord of baits down there.

I have a feeling you're going to get about 8 (or more) different answers here and they'll all be correct. Just bring along a little of each and try them all. If one works better for you than another that day just keep using that. If things "turn off" suddenly try something different.