Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to ATV's and buying one

Default New to ATV's and buying one

This is my first year as a resident so an ATV is high on my list for hunting this fall. I hunted all my life in the lower 48 but Alaska is somewhat new to me for the type of hunting we do up here. We never needed ATV's were I came.

I tried searching this forum for information on a good hunting outfit but didn't have much luck with the search engine. Anyway, I am looking for a good, solid, easy on the back machine to use for hunting. The comfort is important to me due to some lower back issues I have. Other than that I have been told to stay around the 500 since the larger machine can be dangerous? Don't know exactly what that means though.

Would some of you please post up some of your positive and negative experiences with machines you have used for hunting. How big? What model? (If you want to suggest one I am happy to listen) What addon's should I have like a gun boot which is a must have. What about meat wagons? I know winches are a must..

I have gotten a lot of good advice on optic's and everything else in the other forums so I know you folks won't let me down

Oh, since I need to buy two of them they will be used machines so that may make a difference in how you reply. I was thinking nothing older than a certain year?

One last item, I would like to use it around the house in the winter to plow and such. I assume that certain plows are easier to use than others etc. I know I want sometype of electric lift for the plow but I assume they all have that?

I don't like talking to salesman so any help you guys can provide would really be appreciated!