Thread: Plane questions

Default Plane questions

I am moving back to AK this spring and will hopefully be starting my pilots training ASAP. I am just kinda curious what planes could carry 4-5 people? Also, with a heavy plane like that what types of landings are feasable? Beach, gravel, water etc...
    Also, if a guy wanted a plane for 2 and capability to carry a moose out of the field what kind of plane is capable of this...
    In terms of cost I would be looking at 100,000 or less.
    I am really a rookie here and have been reading for a while but I just got word I will finally be going home and it has really kicked my drive to fly into high gear.
    Thanks in advance

Greetings!

First question you have to ask yourself is: will I or will I not be insured for liability and hull value. Closely connected to that question is: will I or will I not need a bank note to finance said airplane...because if the answer to the second question is yes, then the answer to the first question has to be yes.

And if the answer to the first question is yes, then (unless you are a high-income or wealthy individual) your choice of models will be severely limited. Especially in Alaska where insurance rates on everything are through the roof. Forget anything with more than four seats you won't get insurance for less than a king's ransom until you have so many hours that you can fly it in your sleep.

Anything with a wheel on the correct end i.e the tail will cost a premium in insurance too, due to (unfortunately) the higher accident rate. BUT, it can be affordable, can have more utility in Alaska on beaches and on skis (if you choose to engage in that particular wonderful activity) plus you are just plane cool