Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: dall sheep

Default dall sheep

I am new at this dont really know how to post hope some one sees this but i am very interested in a dall sheep hunt nexy august in ak all info of where with who your past experience all would be appreciated

Default Dalls

Start by buying the book by Tony Russ "Sheep Hunting in Alaska'.

Quote Originally Posted by driveacub View Post
    start by buying the book by tony russ "sheep hunting in alaska'.
    thanks i have ordered that and a couple dvd also

Quote Originally Posted by charlie6395 View Post
    I am new at this dont really know how to post hope some one sees this but i am very interested in a dall sheep hunt nexy august in ak all info of where with who your past experience all would be appreciated
    A good start would be learning as much as possible about their natural history - research papers (dealing life cycles, movements etc.) and some of the work by men like Drs. Heimer; Smith and Geist.
    Next to brown bears the most exciting thing we have to have to hunt - biggest problem will be getting past the myths about their "great eye sight" and having to shoot at several "kazillion yards" rather than stalking with a reasonable distance to name just a few.
    Good Luck
    Joe (Ak)

Make sure you have ~15K ready then start calling guides and outfitters. It is a big state and the right guide can get you into sheep in most of it's mountain ranges provided you are in good shape.

Quote Originally Posted by wantj43 View Post
    a good start would be learning as much as possible about their natural history - research papers (dealing life cycles, movements etc.) and some of the work by men like drs. Heimer; smith and geist.
    Next to brown bears the most exciting thing we have to have to hunt - biggest problem will be getting past the myths about their "great eye sight" and having to shoot at several "kazillion yards" rather than stalking with a reasonable distance to name just a few.