Thread: A couple vehicle questions

Default A couple vehicle questions

I'm not quite sure where to ask this so I just picked where it seemed to fit best.

I just bought a 98 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo yesterday and I had a few questions.

First, I just moved to Alaska a little over a month ago and grew up in south Texas so I have no experience with the equipment and preparation required to get a car ready for subzero winter temperatures. I've been talking to a few people about some of it, but any recommendations or links to other resources are appreciated.

Secondly, my front bumper cover is a little torn up and since I'll be replacing it anyway I was thinking about putting a little something sturdier up front. I'd also like to add extra driving/moose lights up front and maybe even a winch, so if anyone has any recommendations for any of the above I would appreciate it.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Where in AK are you? That will help determine what you need for winterization. I don't believe in battery heaters. Never needed one. The battery won't freeze if it is in good shape with a full charge. Engine oil pan heater is recommended. Automatic trans pan heater is good if you are in the interior and will need the vehicle no matter what the temperature. Engine block heater is a must. NOT the circulating kind but the block heater style that goes in place of a frost plug in the engine block.