Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Protecting my Property

Default Protecting my Property

So my nice neighborhood has been plagued in the past year by thieves getting into our trucks and taking stuff. the question is if I catch them in the act what can I do legally because our worthless cops havent done anything yet and havent even bothered to show up once.

Sounds like you live around Homer...
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

Nope South Anchorage

If you hold them at gunpoint and call the cops and tell the dispatcher you have caught burglars and are holding them at gunpoint, rest assured, the cops WILL show up. I'm not a lawyer and I don't play one on TV.
    "A strong body makes the mind strong. As to the species of exercises, I advise the gun. While this gives moderate exercise to the body, it gives boldness, enterprise, and independence to the mind."

The DLP law just ain't for animals . . .

With the standard "I am not a lawyer..." disclaimer, my understanding is, the law does not allow for the use of deadly force (such as holding them at gunpoint) solely to stop a vehicle break-in...with exceptions. If you're in the vehicle and have a reasonable belief that deadly force is required to stop a carjacking or the theft of a car occupied by another person, then it can be justified. I also think you may do so to stop the burglary (or arson) of an occupied RV, since the law allows for the same in the case of an occupied residence.

I don't know, so I'd recommend getting on good terms with a cop or lawyer. They'd know. After my house was robbed (I live in WA now) I ended up getting an alarm system & storing everything under lock & key. If I kept stuff in my car, I'd keep it tucked away & preferably secured in a bolted-down hard case of some kind. I'd also upgrade my car alarm & always park in plain sight.
    Tsimshian tribe, wolf clan, the house of Walsk.