Thread: 4 Stroke?

Default 4 Stroke?

Anyone running a 4 stroke? I am new to snowmachines, didnt have enough snow where i was in NY so i never got one, didnt see the point.
    Anyway... there is a chance i will be moving to Nome soon, and i am going to be needing a snowmachine. I would like some opinions about what kind of sled is better and why a 2 or 4 stroke (i am biased towards 4's), I would be looking at getting a work type sled not a sport. I just like the work model toys better but i will listen to any input someone has.

thanks,
    Josh
    Back in Afghanistan, I hope for the last time.

I run a 4 stroke Yamaha touring sled & I love it I get twice the gas mileage of the same size 2 stroke jobs. There is a little more maintenance with oil and filter changes but that is a minor detail. They are also heavier than 2 stroke sleds so they can be a pain if and when you get stuck.
    I am having a winch bumper built for the back of my sled so I can mount an ATV winch back there just in case.
    If you're looking for a fine utility sled look at the Yamaha Viking.
    Big, long, wide track and lots of storage. It even has a trunk under the seat.
    My Yamaha is an RS Venture GT which is their top of the line 2 up touring sled with a 1000 cc 4 stroke that puts out 120 horse power, which is more than I will ever need. It has plenty enough power to get you out of trouble if you find yourself in some deep overflow.

Default 4 stroke

I've never had a 4 stroke but have known a few who have, besides the weight they also have a tendency to overheat when it's warm out and your riding on trails and they don't start when the temp drops to -30. They do save on gas though. I run a 2 stroke 550 for trapping, hunting, and exploring and have no complaints.