Thread: Can I pick your brain... July 15-18?

Default Can I pick your brain... July 15-18?

First off, I don't know what I would do without the help of all you knowledgeable members. I'm completely new to all of this and appreciate all the help and suggestions people share!!!

Anyway, I actually have some time off work coming up (July 15-18). I'm looking to do the camping and fishing thing with a couple visitors but I don't know what we should target or where we should go. From what I understand, that's a little early to really get on the second run of reds on the Kenai.

Any suggestions on where to go and fish the middle of July (from shore)? We are pretty much open for anything. And of course, the more fish the merrier

Thanks again for the help!

You might be able to get lucky with an early silver at the little su and there should be some chum salmon in there than too. That being said, you might be a week early

Quote Originally Posted by iusckeeper View Post
    First off, I don't know what I would do without the help of all you knowledgeable members. I'm completely new to all of this and appreciate all the help and suggestions people share!!!

Anyway, I actually have some time off work coming up (July 15-18). I'm looking to do the camping and fishing thing with a couple visitors but I don't know what we should target or where we should go. From what I understand, that's a little early to really get on the second run of reds on the Kenai.

Any suggestions on where to go and fish the middle of July (from shore)? We are pretty much open for anything. And of course, the more fish the merrier

Thanks again for the help!
    Last year I went to Soldotna during this exact same time period and limited out on reds every day. The closer you are to the mouth of the Kenai, the earlier you can catch them. The run timing has to be right though. If they're a few days late then it will be pretty slow. Keep an eye on the run charts for the "Kenai River sockeye run".