Thread: Alaska/haul road vehicle

Default Alaska/haul road vehicle

Hello all. I am new to this wonderful forum and this is my first post. I will be moving to Fairbanks in a few months to take a civilian position on Fort Wainwright. Right now I own a two wheel drive truck. I am assuming I will be better off with something four wheel drive. Because I will have this vehicle shipped up there, I need to know in advance what you guys recommend. Can a vehicle pull a cargo type trailer up the haul road or is the road too bad for that? I don't anticipate any real heavy towing needs because right now I don't own a boat. What the is best/inexpensive way to go? Thanks for your help.

I see many people pull a trailer up on the haul rd. Main thing to worry there is getting flat tires for the trailer and you vehicle. I have been up there 3 times. 2 times no flats, but last trip I recieved two. ALso Antigun pass can has so steep parts so a good truck to pull your trailer would be hepful. Antigun pass can get snow on it in Aug so a 4wd truck comes very handy. I would go with a 4wd this will allow you to do more things and to go more places if you decided to get off the main road anywhere here in Alaska.
    Living the Alaskan Dream
    Gary Keller
    Anchorage, AK

Run what you brung. Up here we call it a beater with a heater. That is all you need. Taking a nice vehicle up the haul road or anywhere in Alaska for that matter is just a waste. As long as it is mechanically sound, it is good to go, because there just aren't that many roads anyway. Seems as though I have heard of more nice vehicles getting trashed or dinged than beaters. Whatever you drive, it will get dinged from rocks and sometimes people. Locals like to lay claim to the area and sort of take offense to your presence.

Talking Archives

A search of the archies may give you a lot more help.