Thread: I'm just a poor boy

Default I'm just a poor boy

I dont have the means to hire a air service and I dont have an atv this is my first year hunting in alaska I have scouted for moose and found a few places I can hunt with what I have.I live in fairbanks and I would like to get a bou with my rifle but I dont no where to start (besides 5 miles off the haul road) any help or advise would be great thank you.

Wink

You can contact the AHTNA Corporation and see if they will let you become one of their Hunter/Providers for the natives that don't want to hunt or you can wait and go to the Taylor Highway and hunt the Forty Mile Herd on the Registration Permit. It opens late August, so you need to plan pretty soon. Either way, it is pretty much a sure deal. The hunt along the Steese Hwy, is iffy, especially on foot.
    "96% of all Internet Quotes are suspect and the remaining 4% are fiction."
    ~~Abraham Lincoln~~

Default thnx

thank you for the info I will scout it out

Thumbs up Get more $$

Short and to the point...

Get more money, get another job, drop a habit and save.....but fly in whenever possible for your Alaskan hunting gigs...

...if you want to experience a higher quality hunt and shoot more stuff.

If you can only afford a short flight, then toughen up physically and mentally in the fitness center and on the hillside trains while your friends are drinking beer and fishing the Kenai River. Cross more hills and mountains. Cross more streams and rivers. Crash through more Alder brush. Put more barriors between you and the other hunters who will seldom do the additional work....and you will let the air out of more critters.

Really, really.

Dennis