Thread: Wooldridge ak II owners question

Default Wooldridge ak II owners question

I have a 20' Ak 2 w/ Suzuki df 140 jet. I have to maintain approx 4000 or more rpm to stay on step w/ one other person on the boat and very light gear. Is this normal? Boat/ motor is brand new with no damage.

Quote Originally Posted by Valaska View Post
    I have a 20' Ak 2 w/ Suzuki df 140 jet. I have to maintain approx 4000 or more rpm to stay on step w/ one other person on the boat and very light gear. Is this normal? Boat/ motor is brand new with no damage.
    I am honestly not sure but you may benefit from the stainless impeller if you haven't already upgraded.

Default Impeller

Forgot to add that it came with a ss impeller. It may be totally normal as I am new to jet boats, but it takes 4000 rpm to stay on step and it maxes out at 5500 rpm. Seems like a tight throttle range. I'm glad I didn't decide to go with the 115 motor or I'd probably barely get on step.

I think its pretty normal to have a tight range to work with, my 17' Sport with a 115 is happiest cruising with a moderate load at 4200-4600 with max at 5200.
    Having said that, while that DF140 is a fantstic motor, maybe its a bit small for your 20'? I see most of those rigs with 150-175 ETECS on them.
    Check your shims?
    Never wrestle with a pig.
    you both get dirty;
    the Pig likes it.

You are doing good to stay on step at 4K, I have the 140 Johnson, (same motor0 and I need 4200- 4400 to stay up, my boat is a 60" bottom, I think the AKII is 68". I am sure that width makes a difference.

My 60" wide Extra+ wolly 17' needs at least 4200RM to stay on step, more like 4300ish and I top out at 5500rpm with my 130HP Yamaha 4 blade SS impeller. Not used to that small powerband yet. But getting there.)

Quote Originally Posted by DarkPaladin View Post