Thread: Need some Cast Performance Load Data

Default Need some Cast Performance Load Data

Hey all,
    I'm loading up some 300grWFNGC for my Redhawk in .44mag and I'm planning on using Unique or Blue Dot, CCI lg pistol primers and Rem cases. These are going to be my bear thumpers when I'm fishing.
    Does anyone have a decent starting point for either of these two powders? I'm coming up short in my search.

Thanks!!

Mountaintrekker

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Quote Originally Posted by Mountaintrekker View Post
    Hey all,
    I'm loading up some 300grWFNGC for my Redhawk in .44mag and I'm planning on using Unique or Blue Dot, CCI lg pistol primers and Rem cases. These are going to be my bear thumpers when I'm fishing.
    Does anyone have a decent starting point for either of these two powders? I'm coming up short in my search.

Thanks!!

Mountaintrekker
    I'm no expert, but I'm betting that the experts will tell you that Blue Dot or Unique aren't the best powders to use for bear thumper loads.

This is not to say, you can't do it, but the fact that there is little data for them might indicate, it isn't the best idea. ???? You MIGHT find something at www.handloads.com ??

H4227, H110, 2400, or something like that is called for. Didn't CP sends loading data in the box with the bullets?

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

Default cp loads

use h 110/w296, these bullets really move when motivated by these powders! i wont quote charges, but all that ive loaded from modern data have shot great.
    Fast is fine, but accuracy is final. You need to learn to be slow in a hurry! Wyatt Earp.