Thread: kwiks

Default kwiks

Since we're talking about problems.

I'm curious how yall are rigging them. Flatline? or behind a jet diver or lead?

I picked up some 15's and a couple 16's to give them a go again...any tips? Colors? (I know if it aint chartuese dont but it right lol).

Dont have a ton of faith in them is all...

I guess I should add...I'll be back bouncing them out of a raft. Works well with jets and spin-n-glo's. Just trying to learn something without having to worry about having bait all the time.

I asked on another one....single vs treble hooks also. If you dont have to swap the trebles do you still? They seem like crappy hooks all together. If so what hooks do you prefer and how are yall rigging them?

I'm not an expert, only go once or twice a year for kings. I've used kwikfish a lot. Normally just flat line, no wieght or divers, planers, etc. I was at Lake Creek this last week end and saw fish caught on kwikfish, spin n glows and even a spinner. Ours were on kwikfish, chartruese in color.

I use them in saltwater rather than rivers, so I'm not sure how well this will apply. I'm guessing it will, but don't have the opportunity to try it.

I switch out the trebles on all mine for 7/0 Siwash hooks. The trebles are wimpy in the first place, but the heavier Siwash improve the action of Kwikfish for trolling at ocean speeds- 2- 2.5 mph. It makes them swing less from side to side, giving them a quicker "wiggle" that doesn't go so far out to the sides. It also keeps them from spinning as speed goes up. The normal action and tendency to spin as speed goes up is about worthless in my experience, but with the big Siwashes onboard, it turns them into one of the best saltwater trolling lures around.

No guarantees, but worth a try in rivers I think.

Default I like...

....to rig them with a single Gama Siwash hook and a swivel. On 16's you can use 5/0-7/0, 15's can be rigged with 4/0-6/0 and so on...