Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Has anyone tried downriggers for halibut?

Default Has anyone tried downriggers for halibut?

I am curious why this technique wouldnt work. Most downriggers that i know and i am not an expert but i believe release the line when there is a strike. Plus you can use monster weights without blowing out your shoulder realing up the huge weights on your line. WE have been talking about this on our last halibut trip on the way home from deep creek and wondered why would this not work. I think this would work great especially if you are slowly moving against an out going current, you have a downrigger bouncing baits off the bottom. I would think this would be magical for halibut.

any thoughts??

This has been discussed here before;I have had some success,drifting& trolling; tangling can be a problem.

If you can't anchor, tangling can be a serious problem, even with one downrigger if the boat spins at all on the wind or current. Two downriggers would be a fuster cluck. But if the water's deep and you don't have an anchor winch, hauling anchor will teach you new lessons in blown shoulders and backs. But when anchored, you can do it real easy. We even go so far as to snap a chum bag onto the ball, and the baited line on a release just above it. Even then though, if the halibut circles before you can get the wire up and well out of the way, you're back in Tangle Land.

We're happiest to simply put the chum bag on the downrigger and go to Spectra or some such on the rods in order to cut the amount of weight we need to use. If you only hit the couple of hours either side of the tide change, you can also cut down on the amount of weight needed.

Yeah;two downrigger lines wrapped with the anchor rode AND the kicker and main outboards was memorable.

Quote Originally Posted by icook4 View Post
    Yeah;two downrigger lines wrapped with the anchor rode AND the kicker and main outboards was memorable.
    Sounds like fun!