Thread: Hiking Solo on established trail systems in Alaska?

Default Hiking Solo on established trail systems in Alaska?

Well, I am sure someone gives this post every year, but as I am new to Alaska I would value hearing experienced Alaskan outdoorsmens' opinion on hiking solo on Alaska trail systems.

I'm in my mid-20s and an avid hiker whose hiked trails all across North America, Europe, and South America, including ~500 solo trails miles last summer in the Alps and Vermont. I came in Mid-May to Alaska for training to be a glacier day hiking guide in Wrangell-St. Elias but they ended up overhiring and let go of a newbie (ie Me).

Now, I am trying to make the most of being in Alaska and am putting together a plan for beautiful hikes and places I want to go before I consider leaving the state. Of course, being new to Alaska I dont know too many people yet, and in case I dont meet anybody interested in hiking some of the destinations I desire I am contemplating doing them solo...wouldnt normally bother me, but I realize this is Alaska and more precautions must be considered...ie bears, river crossings, less frequency of other hikers etc. I have a SPOT and bear spray and read all about proper bear etiquette.

Honestly I guess my biggest concern is brown bear, I havent spent much time in their territory except during an 8 person group hike to Donoho Peak in Wrangell-St Elias, but being with so many people allayed any concern I would have had.

So would I be considered foolish to try and tackle any of the following trails alone?

-Kesugi Ridge (Denali State Park)
    -Resurrection Pass Trail
    -Crow Pass Traverse
    -Kachemak Bay State park
    -Caines Head
    -Johnson Pass
    -Russian Lakes