Thread: Help with Sockeye Fishing

Default Help with Sockeye Fishing

Hey guys,

Need some help with Sockeye Fishing. I'm fairly new to Flyfishing and completely new to Sockeye fishing. I have purchased flys for sockeye but the problem is the method for fishing for them. I have heard you need weights and strike indicators, but i dont understand why? Can anyone shed some light on this and maybe gives some tricks to catching them? Thanks guys!
    I Wish i could change my name to Shimano, because i recently started hating Ambassdor Abu_Garcia.

Well honeslty for reds......... any fly will work, better to tie your own I say. With that being said most people do the flip, were they throw it up and more or less jerk every time there is bump. It all depends on were your going to be fishing, this method is fine in fast water but slow water not to much. If I was you I wouldn't mess with a strike indicator until you have the river figred out or how to use one, they are very good if you get a good drift though.

I would go to the gravel bars on the Kenai below the Russian and flip and figre it out, don't sit heavy on the bottom because you loose a lot of "feeling" and before you know it you will get a feel for the "zone" once you do, repeat it. In other places you will find when you have line out that you need to mend your line to keep the drift and work the holes. Figure out how to use the water to your advantage. And for god sakes don't use sinking line, it will drag your fly under the fish. Heavier is not always better! Hope this helps.

Hey thanks for that but im still confussed... i thought Reds striked hard and fast but the problem was getting them to strike??? i wont be fishing any big rivers, mainly a small/medium sized creek thats not to fast moving (in most spots).
    I Wish i could change my name to Shimano, because i recently started hating Ambassdor Abu_Garcia.