Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Halibut Fishing

Default Halibut Fishing

So myself and a few other guys are going to try and plan a halibut trip soon and I am new to the fishing up here is their anyone that has any good tips on landing a monster halibut?

turnagain arm ^_^

Landing a monster but is the same as hitting the jackpot at a slot machine. There is no special skill involved, it comes down to being at the right spot at the right time.

Quote Originally Posted by Tharness View Post
    So myself and a few other guys are going to try and plan a halibut trip soon and I am new to the fishing up here is their anyone that has any good tips on landing a monster halibut?
    Are you talking about "landing" a monster or "catching" a monster? There's a whole thread earlier about the best way to land one, but catching one is a different story. How big a boat do you have? How far out do you want to go? How much experience exactly do you have? There are hundreds of people that go out there every day looking for "monsters" and very few come back with them. If I were you I'd be happy just finding some nice ones and practice on those first. There are plenty of places to go where you can catch 10 to 30 pounders all day long.
    Year round saltwater fishing adventures in Homer, AK.
    http://muttleycrewfishing.com

Quote Originally Posted by Paul H View Post
    Landing a monster but is the same as hitting the jackpot at a slot machine. There is no special skill involved, it comes down to being at the right spot at the right time.
    And I'd respectfully have to disagree with that. Knowing the best spots to land big butt helps an awful lot and the proper method for doing it. You can't just go out anywhere you feel like it and catch a 300 lb. "monster" and it sure helps to know what you're doing when you try.