Thread: Black Bears and Rainy Weather

Default Black Bears and Rainy Weather

I am not new to hunting, but I am new to hunting Black Bear. So my question is this. Are black bears like white tail deer in the fact that a little colder and wetter weather will get them up and moving ?

I know that when I have hunted deer that was pretty much the case. A bit colder and wetter weather was ideal hunting, but I don't know about black bear.

I am not talking about a steady good rain or a total down pour.
    Diamond Marquis

I think that's a pretty decent assumption. They move alot more based upon the time of year rather than temperature.
    "Ya can't stop a bad guy with a middle finger and a bag of quarters!!!!"- Ted Nugent.

well......it was raining pretty hard the other day here in the butte.....was glassin a patch of fallen timber......a blackie sow and her 3 cubs were on the move, feeding on skunk cabbage id suppose.....then yesterday it was off/on rain, watched a decent sized grizzly way up high on the same mountain. he didnt seem to mind the wetness, plus it was really windy up there. In my opinion its time of year, availability of food, and location.... they move with the food sources throughout their waking months.

Release Lake Trout

With Black Bears, time of day also plays a huge factor.

Down here in S SE when the sun comes out the Bear hide !!!!

Default what i've seen

is that bears will be out in the rain feeding as normal, unless it is really pouring. same thing for windy conditions. but if it is super windy and rainy same time, they usually lay down in the hemlocks to wait it out.

Quote Originally Posted by AK-Sniper View Post
    I am not new to hunting, but I am new to hunting Black Bear. So my question is this. Are black bears like white tail deer in the fact that a little colder and wetter weather will get them up and moving ?