Thread: minto

Default minto

if given the chance would you go this weekend or wait thill july/august for pike?

Default go get 'em

You should catch fish if you go this weekend. The fishing might get better the longer you wait, but who knows. Just curious as to how you were planning on going in? I usually go the MDR route and I think I would have to do a recon trip on the four wheeler before I towed my boat down there. With the amount of rain we've had in the last two weeks the bottom of that trail might be pretty sloppy. I plan on making my annual trip in, not sure on the dates yet. If you make the run be sure to post a report.

Tight lines,

KH

Are you guys talking about Minto lake or the lakes by the town of Minto. Sorry I'm a newbie. I just want to go catch some pike on the fly. How do you guys get there? I live in North Pole.

Thanks Much

July can be tough if the water heats up to much. June is better. I am heading out there this weekend.

Cav - I am pretty sure Minto Flats is what is being discussed. The Flats are the lakes and rivers, everything is connected there. I launch from the village and head out, but you can get there via boat from the Murphy Dome or any of the launches on the Tanana. You can also do a fly in. I forget the name of the outfit in Fairbanks that does it, but a quick search will turn it up. They also rent cabins and have boats there for you to use. Pretty neat deal I have heard.

back in town... the numbers of fish caught were far less than everyone says... but the quality of fish was worth the trip alone... largest fish landed was just over 3ft... with one significantly larger on the line for all of maybe 15 sec... just long enough to see where the line was pointing and where his tail broke the surface... one uneasy moment with the villagers on the way out... speaking of being greedy and not respecting the land.... both of which unsuported claims... i will return