Thread: Useful case life?

Default Useful case life?

I am fairly new to reloading, and was wondering what the average useful case life is? For those that need to know I don't have a case thickness gauge and don't really plan on getting one. I reload .44mag, .45 ACP, 9mm, 30-30, .300 WM, .223. Any info is helpful thanks.

It depends a whole lot on how much you "exercise" your cases, and there are a bunch of variables: How you resize, how hot your loads are, what you do to the case mouths, whether and how often you anneal, even who made your reloading dies. Every caliber you list is going to be different, and the guy next to your loading the same rounds is going to get different case life.

I happen to put a lot of store in good cases and good case life, so I seldom "push" max. I'll drop back a little below max, which usually doesn't hurt a thing hunting-wise while giving me lots more case life, for example.

I've got three.... no make that two now...rifles in 257 Roberts. If I keep the cases separate for each rifle I can avoid resizing them back to minimums and get longer case life from each rifle. The one that RCBS built for me has a custom sizing die that gives incredible case life, but the other has a pretty minimum chamber and won't even chamber cases sized in that custom die. If I use the standard factory sizing die, the second rifle gets great case life, but cases sized for that particular rifle have a relatively short life in the rifle that RCBS built for me.

The possibilities and variables go on and on, as you can see from even those two examples.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

BB:
    How do you determine, when it's time to chuck'em?
    Thanks
    Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.