Thread: How small is too small.

Default How small is too small.

Let me establish that I have no hunting experience and was trying my hand at black bear hunting in unit 7. I am hunting to fill the freezer and have no interest in mounts or rugs at this stage in the game.

I read the regs a dozen times and studied enough to feel I was ready to do this. The regs say that you can't shoot a 1st year black bear. How do you tell what that is. Will it still be with mama?

I have been hunting for quite a while and had not seen anything yet. To the point my wife was starting to tell me I had been gone enough. Well, this morning I shot a black bear at a little over 100 yards. It looked to me (remember I have no experience to draw from) to be an average size black bear. I saw no other bears around and actually took a second to look at it before shooting it. Well it was a clean lung / heart shot and it fell without a step.

When I got to it, it was smaller than I thought it was. I'm pretty sure it's beg enough but I was starting to worry. I was hoping you guys could tell me how small is too small?

5', 4' ? Where can you tell if it's a 1st year or not.

I hate for this to be my first post here and my first harvest, but I intend to eat it none the less.

Congratulations on your first harvest, Nube. It sounds like you studied and worked for it, and eventually connected. That's great!

As for size, a first year bear will be very small, and will almost certainly be with its mother. If there was no sow present, you're probably fine. A second year bear will be well under 5', and I'm not sure that they'd even be 4' - someone with more experience can chime in here. I have a friend who took one last year that had quarters that were very small - very small - but it was legal and very tasty. You did the right thing by salvaging it, now enjoy it. You're probably fine legally and this will give you something to judge against when you go out again this fall.