Thread: Impressive Diesel Jet stats

Default Impressive Diesel Jet stats

Just thought some of you might like to see these numbers. Just took a ride past the Yentna Station Roadhouse with my new 22' Boulton Jet with 250hp diesel. I am no expert, but I thought this might spark a discussion. Let me know what you think.

Over 78 river miles
    2.83 hrs
    18.1 gallons used
    27.6 mph avg speed
    36.2 mph max speed

My public school math says 6.4 gal/hr...4.3 mi/gal...90gal tank gives me 390 mile range! We were not exactly easy on the throttle. Boat had three people plus goods for the Roadhouse and a friend's cabin.

Not bad numbers. Do you have a guess at total of the weight of the "goods" on board? Down stream loaded, up stream empty?
    2005 20' Weldcraft Sabre XL 350 MP
    SD309 AT
    2009 Polaris Dragon 800 163
    Custom Mod's

Default new diesel

Do you have the yanmar 6by in it? I have a new 20' Precisionweld with a 6by and i just did 160 miles on the Main Salmon in Idaho and my burn rate was 5.9 to 6.8 GPH.I have lots of power.I ran with a 24' with a 8.1 gas and his burn rate was 11 to 13.6 GPH.Gasoline is for trolling motors.

Eagle1

Quote Originally Posted by Jimw View Post
    Not bad numbers. Do you have a guess at total of the weight of the "goods" on board? Down stream loaded, up stream empty?
    The thing about running the Yetena river is it's downstream and upstream in the same trip...............both ways.

Thumbs up

Got it, mixed bag.
    2005 20' Weldcraft Sabre XL 350 MP
    SD309 AT
    2009 Polaris Dragon 800 163
    Custom Mod's

Those sound like good figures to me. What size/type jet?

Default FNM with Hamilton

22' Boulton with Hamilton 212 2.4 Turbo impeller. The engine is the FNM 250HP Diesel. Weighs 100lbs less than a 350 and 7" shorter.

Quote Originally Posted by no pavement View Post
    22' Boulton with Hamilton 212 2.4 Turbo impeller. The engine is the FNM 250HP Diesel. Weighs 100lbs less than a 350 and 7" shorter.