Thread: Starting out in bush flying?

Default Starting out in bush flying?

I'm pretty new to all of this but I'm at the age for a decision. I've been wanting to get into bush flying, but what/how should I start? If you had to give some advise to a budding young aviator wanting to get into bush flying, what would it be?

no comment,.. whoops

If you cant stand behind the troops in Iraq.. Feel free to stand in front of them.

If you come from a VERY Wealthy family, go for it. If not, consider another pursuit.

Don't worry about becoming a bush pilot, rather worry about becoming a really, really good and safe pilot. Start with learning to fly. Find somebody to follow around to learn the ropes. Then buy an airplane and try not to wreck it! You got to learn to crawl before you can walk, then run, then win Mt. Marathon. It's going to take some time.

Hello Tippacanoe,

Congrats on your desire to become a bush pilot. It is something that so few actually get to do and such an amazing opportunity to enjoy the last great wilderness places in North America.

Do you have your private pilot license yet? That's the first step obviously.

Where do you live? Canada is a big place... :-)

You didn't state whether you wanted to be a recreational pilot or fly for a living. If you're doing it for recreation, no need to get a commercial license, spend the $$$ on hours in the plane. If you're in an area where there is bush operations going on, hang out with some of the guys. Hanging out on the airport ramp and talking to guys with big tires on their planes can open some doors. If anything you'll here some good stories (some may even be true) and you can tuck the lessons learned away for future reference.

If your wallet can handle it, buying a small bird like a Champ, Cub, or T-Craft can really help you grow your skills and flight hours. There is no substitute for flight time.