Thread: A question about rifle selection

Default A question about rifle selection

Hello All-

I have talked and talked to people and I thought this would be the best place to ask before I pull the trigger on a new gun. I am new to the Alaska Interior, and came up here with a Tikka whitetail hunter .270 SS/LS w/VX II 3x9x40. I plan to enjoy everything that this great state has to offer and realize that my current rifle doesn't exactly cut the mustard for all.

I have looked into the "Best Caliber for Alaska" thread, and the way I read this is that if you could only have "one" gun which would it be. But if you already had a .270 would stepping up to a .300 or .338 really be wise?

I've looked at the Browning A-Bolt 375 H&H w/BOSS. But haven't seen very many reviews for this rifle. My plan was to pair this rifle with either a VX-II or Ziess Conquest 3x9x40. Would this make a good combo, or is there another option that y'all recommend?

Thanks in advance
    Kevin

You will get ten different answers from ten different people on your post. There is nothing wrong with your trusty .270. With premium bullets and proper shot placement you will put meat in the freezer. Personally I wouldn't use it on big, coastal brownies though. A .338 or one of the .375 calibers would be a great choice as a second rifle. I find that I carry my model 70 .375 most of the time now. I like the way it carries and the bullets go where I put the cross hairs. Plus, you always need just one more rifle, right?
    Spending my kids' inheritance with them, one adventure at a time.

Kevin,

Lots of info you'll find on the search about this topic. There is nothing wrong with your .270 for most anything in the Interior and its almost ideal for carribou. Don't underestimate how much "other" stuff you'll need to hunt up here as well... in short I'd use the .270 until I made sure I had the other bases well covered.