Thread: Bailing arm getting tired

Default Bailing arm getting tired

I'm new to powered freighter canoes and looking for some advice. Sorry if this question's been covered elsewhere.

I just got a 19' Grumman, circa 1980, and clamped a five year old 15hp Suzuki 4-stroke on the transom, in order to get to town on the upper Yukon. Well, I made it to town, but a fountain of water would gush over the transom whenever I got near full throttle. Up to half throttle or so it was okay. There was one lighter person in the bow, and what little weight we carried was up there too.

I tried putting the trim at different angles by shifting the pin on the mount around, but it didn't make much difference, except letting the motor go lower (so the propeller pointed down more) seemed to cut back on the gushing slightly. So I plugged up the freshets (they shoot in where the motor meets the mount) with some junk foam, and bailed on up.

Can I solve this with mounting adjustments, or do I just need to come up with the best skirt I can, and go slow if I want to be dry?

too much HP for that craft unless heavily loaded.

Default leveling out the freighter

Yes, these are all your friends to help solve this:

spray rails
    spray cover snapped on over top
    stingray (horizontal fin) mounted on motor
    milk crate full of rocks in front, if still not level
    tiller extension so your weight moves forward
    extend the gas line so all gas is in front

And yes, a 9.9 would be better. I'm running a 15 HP in my Scott of same length as yours (and technically I'm running too much HP), but I bet my canoe is just about twice the weight and a bit wider, with a transom double the width of yours.

Default over flow

this will happend with the rig you have, what you can do is build up the transom an seal well bring the sides near the transom up some also,