Thread: recommend flatwater in AK

Default recommend flatwater in AK

Hi everyone, this is my first post here.

I will be staying in Anchorage through August, and I am looking for places to take my 8 yr old son and my gf canoeing in my Old Town Guide 147. Specifically, I'm looking for any place that we could go canoe camping for 1-2 nights. I'm not adverse to a little bit of fast water; however I have no whitewater experience, and my gf has little canoe experience at all, although I used to teach canoeing merit badge and am pretty confident in my canoe.

What are some good places that we could paddle for a day or two?

Thanks.

Default Welcome

Welcome to the site.

Near Anchorage - Eklutna Lake is a good one - Paddle (13 miles?) across the lake and camp on the far side - weather can turn on you quick up there and watch the winds. Good trip though - wait for the fire to settle down.

Nancy Lake Canoe Trails is a good one a couple hours from Anchorage. We did the loop in our Guide 147 this Saturday and our girls enjoyed it.

The Swan Lake canoe trails is another good one not too far away down on the Kenai.

-hiker

In the Interior I like Tangle Lakes, Summit Lake and Clearwater River (some current but no whitewater).

Bit of a ride from Anchorage but pretty country.

East fork of moose river. It's about a 2 hour drive from anchorage, you drive right up to the launch, the portage between the 1st and 2nd lake is just a beaver ****, and no portage to the last lake. Nice camping spots on the last lake and great rainbow fishing.

If you want to explore some more and don't mind portaging, the Kenai Canoe Trails are outstanding. Pick up this book.