Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Blond and Furry comin' home with me

Smile Blond and Furry comin' home with me

Got the family out for Mem camping trip and did a bit-o-glassing when I could. Saw some griz, 'bou, ptarmigan, white lone wolf, fox, and more. Everyone caught some greyling in the creek. Tons and tons of sunshine.....perfect weekend. My son and I waited out a marble-sized hail storm under a tarp at 4800 feet.

My wife spotted the griz first and 45 minutes later the shot presented and I took it at 150-200 yards with a homemade 180 gr .300 RUM through the heart......suprisingly he ran about 80-100 yards with no ticker.

I had a good time skinning him and prepping the hide by campfire and lantern until 0430. Took the femur bones for fish bonkers....kind of a novelty I've been doing for a few years. I used my havalong piranta knife and did the entire hide with one blade; the face turning I did with a different blade.

His hide was tremendous. Blong and long....no rubs, long sharp claws, good sized noggin, and good looking teeth. I think he's pretty fresh out of the den; was skinny with no fat on his body; tons of muscle though - me and my buddy estimated him at 450-500 lbs.

Here comes another taxi bill.

I love AK.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Great job

What a great weekend adventure and successful hunt.
    What are your plans with the hide--rug or mount--sure is a pretty coloration. Any hide or skull size yet or estimates?

Default Getting a rug made

I wish I could afford a full mount for this boar and have the space for him in my man-cave, but I don't. Lone Wolf Taxidermy and Animal Artistry does outstanding/amazing work and will be doing my rug. I'll get him sealed tomorrow at ADF&G. Size is maybe 8', skull is maybe 23" or so.....we'll see. Right now he's salted and frozen.

Default Nice Going

That is going to look great no matter how you get it done. Great color.
    Congrats on the good trip.

Nice color, Congratulations.