Thread: Paddling a Pro Pioneer with Kayak paddles?

Default Paddling a Pro Pioneer with Kayak paddles?

I am very new to the inflatable world on the water. I just bought a Pro Pioneer from a buddy and it came with all the goodies. I tried it out last night on a local lake and it worked great. The oars and saddles will take some getting use to. I tried the canoe paddle out as well and feel confident that I could move the boat around with it if needed.

My question is has anyone tried or does anyone currently use this boat with a long kayak paddle? Something like a long bladed touring setup or similar to a Inuit paddle. The way it felt last night I really feel like a kayak paddle would work great. I am not planning any floats with this anytime soon. Mainly for lakes and out on the ocean here close to shore. I know sitting up high probably isnt the ideal angle.

Zach

Zach,

Controlling the PP with paddles or even a double-ended kayak paddle on still water, lightly-loaded, is one thing. Controlling that boat with a full load of moose meat, gear and people on moving water is a different matter entirely.

This boat was specifically designed as a big load hauler. You'll need the rowing setup if you're float hunting on rivers.

-Mike
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.
    Web Address: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/hunt-planner/
    Mob: 1 (907) 229-4501
    "Dream big, and dare to fail." -Norman Vaughan
    "I have climbed my mountain, but I must still live my life." - Tenzig Norgay

Light load is exactly what I was looking out doing with the kayak paddles. I plan on using the oar setup for any floats I do. But that wont be this year. I will mainly be using this for recreation with my wife and kid on various waters.

Zach

Quote Originally Posted by tundratrader View Post